South East Cornwall
B&B Campsites Holiday Cottages Hotels Holiday Park Information
Restaurants Shopping Self Catering Towns & Villages
Carlyon Bay, Charlestown, Downderry, Duloe, Fowey, Golant, Liskeard, Looe, Lostwithiel, Mevagissey, Polperro, St Austell
Carlyon Bay is a quiet residential area which sits on the coastline in the curve of St Austell Bay on the south coast of Cornwall. Carlyon Bay's Crinnis Beach is a beautiful spot - nearly a mile long stretch of sand surrounded by high cliffs. It is recognised as one of the finest locations on the Cornish Riviera.
Carlyon Bay is also a Seaside Award Winner, winning points for its cleanliness on land and sea, and for its excellent facilities, coupled together with safe bathing, water sports, and trouble-free leisure, you are guaranteed to enjoy yourself!
Charlestown is a coastal town situated in the north-west corner of St Austell Bay on the south coast of Cornwall, about two miles from St Austell town centre. The old Cornish name for the area is Polmear , and the village was originally called West Polmear. It had been a fishing village and this activity was conducted from the beach. In 1790 the village contained only 9 people.
The expansion of the mining industry in the St Austell area made it a necessity to construct a harbour on the coast near by. Construction of the harbour, sponsored by Charles Rashleigh, started in 1791 and was completed in 1798. A pier was begun in 1791 for the security of fishing boats, but this was extended the following year, immediately after which a basin was cut out of solid rock. Worth a visit is the Shipwreck and Heritage Centre, which shows a fascinating 200 year history of fishing, wrecking, mining and migration to North America.
Access on foot is from the road along the clifftop [B3247] , the footpath crossing fields to reach the path which descends the cliff - making it suitable only for those with good mobility.Walking along the beach from Downderry itself is possible, but PLEASE NOTE: great care should be taken to check the tides before so doing. It can be very easy to get cut off by the rising tide if you are the wrong side of one the numerous rocky outcrops along this beach.
Downderry is variously described as a sandy beach, or consisting of "pebbles and gritty sand" . The numerous rocky outcrops provide good screening, making for seclusion and a beach "ideal for naturism". Warnings about being cut off by the tide also apply once you actually reach the beach - caution is required.
There has been a settlement at Duloe for at least 2500 years. Early inhabitants built an unusual and impressive circle - its eight stones are all of glittering white quartz. There is a source of quartz quite near to the circle, so its use may have been a matter of convenience rather than deliberate selection for ritual significance. With two exceptions, the stones are all large, the tallest being at the south, 2.8m high and estimated to weigh 12 tons. The two small stones at the north and south east are fragments of the originals which were damaged in the "restoration" of the circle in 1861. At that time, a Bronze Age ribbon handled urn "filled with human bones" was uncovered by the NNE stone.
Fowey is a deep water harbour that is a very important exporting port on the South West peninsula, being the largest in tonnage terms.
Fowey accommodates over 7000 visiting craft through the summer season and has up to 1500 resident craft. Fowey Harbour is a picturesque place to visit with good facilities and a friendly atmosphere.
The town itself clings to the hill side. It is full of character having many narrow meandering streets for you to explore
Golant is a small Cornish waterside village, bounded on the west by the Lostwithiel to Fowey road the B3269 and on the east by its focal point the River Fowey. It has a 13th century Parish Church dedicated to St Sampson, a pub named the Fishermans Arms, the Cormorant Hotel, a retail art gallery, youth hostel and a small part time post office.
The Church and the village overlook the tree clad and winding Fowey estuary less than two miles upstream from the coastal towns of Polruan and Fowey. An area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB) full of scenic views all year round. The rivers east bank is owned by the National Trust. In the summer the river is a hive of boating activity and in the winter left mostly to cormorants, egrets, mallards, swans, herons and kingfishers that make the river their home.
Situated on the undualating ground between the valleys of the East Looe and Seaton Rivers, this picturesque and lively market town was also one of Cornwall's five medieval stannary towns - the others being Bodmin, Lostwithiel, Truro and Helston. The name comes from the Latin for tin - stannum - and these five towns were the only places licensed to weigh and stamp the metal. Liskeard had been a tin mining centre for centuries and with the construction of a canal in the 19th century copper ore and granite joined the cargoes of tin. To the west of Liskeard is the well known Dobwells - Family Fun Park
Looe is the principal seaside town of south-east Cornwall. Looe harbour is the base for an important fishing fleet and the town is also the headquarters of British shark-fishing.
Where better to experience superlative quality fish than Looe - the fishing boats are all quite small ones because of the nature of the tidal harbour - they are day boats which go out in the morning and come back in the evening with wonderful fresh fish.
In medieval times there were two towns on opposite banks of the River Looe. East Looe includes the fishing harbour, the main shopping centre and the sandiest beach. West Looe is quieter, but also has shops, restaurants and hotels and leads to Hannafore with its fine views of Looe Island. The two towns are joined together by a bridge across the river Looe Website
Lostwithiel in Cornwall is a hidden gem, nestling in the Fowey River valley about 6 miles east of the Eden Project and 5 miles north of Fowey. The town is overlooked by Restormel Castle and surrounded by beautiful countryside. Lostwithiel is an ideal centre for taking a holiday in Cornwall. The town has plenty of holiday accommodation and in the evening Lostwithiel has a wide range of pubs and restaurants available for eating out.
Lostwithiel is the antiques capital of Cornwall with 11 antiques shops and an Antiques Centre. Regular Antique auctions and Antique Fairs are also held in Lostwithiel. West of Lostwithiel set amidst scenery of outstanding natural beauty, is the lovely village of Luxulyan, sandwiched between the Devils Stone and the 15th century church of St Cyriacus.
Mevagissey refers to the town of St Meva and St Issey, first recorded as a hamlet in 1313. A picturesque, unique 14th Century fishing village located on the South Cornwall Coast at the end of a valley close to the Lost Gardens of Heligan and the Eden Project . Mevagissey, a magical place for your holiday, where you can wander the narrow alleyways, browse gift shops and art galleries, try the local ale in one of the many pubs, have a fine dinner in one of the excellent restaurants and finally a walk around the moon lit harbour.
As Mevagissey is a working harbour, you must appreciate that working boats have priority. The inner harbour dates back to 1774, and the outer harbour to 1888. However the outer harbour walls were washed away in the storms of the great blizzard in March 1891. They were rebuilt and completed in 1897
Much favoured by Artists & Photographers alike. It has been the chosen site for many a film. Truly an area of outstanding beauty! The Village retains almost all of its 17th century architectural charm and is still a working fishing port, an activity which is believed to have been around, uninterrrupted, since the 13th Century.
Polperro achieved great notoriety in the 18th and early 19th centuries due to the enormous amount of smuggling taking place around the Port, so much so, that King George ordered a "Water Preventative Guard Station" to be sited in Polperro Harbour, the first in the Kingdom! A visit to the Polperro Heritage Museum, situated in the old "Pilchard Factory" will provide much of the history.
St. Austell is a bustling market town often referred to as the capital of the 'Cornish Alps'. The ethereal white mini-mountains, the spoil heaps of the china-clay industry lend an eerie atmosphere to the landscape. William Cookworthy discovered the clay in 1755, and with the opening of the pits to mine the clay St. Austel's population and prosperity soon began to grow. Kao-Lin, an essential ingredient in the manufacture of porcelain, had previously only been found in northern China. Much of the history can be found at the Wheal Martyn China Clay Heritage Centre - Wheal Martyn's is a beautiful site with woodland walks and spectacular views. There is an Historic Trail, Nature Trail, New Exhibitions; Cornwall's largest Water Wheel and an Audio Visual Show.
5 miles from St Austell is Par Sands - A wide sandy beach popular with families. There is a huge expanse of sand at low tide and there is still some sand left at high tide